top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIsla Hacker

Welcome and Poem

Updated: Apr 12, 2020

Hello everyone! As you may know, I'm Isla Hacker. This little corner of the web will be where I share my views on certain books, and explore the power of words. Here, I will be posting writing tips, book reviews, taking a deeper dive into some aspects of writing, and sharing some of my own writing. Welcome to Lavender Pages!




Today I will also be sharing a poem that I wrote in the middle of the night. Because of quarantine, I was at school to pick up some things I would need for E-learning. I was struck by how abandoned the school seemed with the lack of people, of life. I imagined what our school would be like as a ghost a thousand years in the future. How it would be a historic ruin, and how lonely it would feel. I imagined this poem.


Lonely Hallways


Gliding through the hallways

Of the place that I once knew

Memories of better times

Drift through


Cold stalks in

Footsteps echo

In the abandoned corridors

Of the place I used to know


Shadows run rampant

Nighthawk thoughts crow

In the abandoned corridors

Of the place I used to know


History whispers its wisdom

Away the sun flees

As nature takes back

Its old palace with glee


Silence reigns

Here I am, alone

In the abandoned corridors

Of the place I used to know


Hail to time

As ev'rything slows

In the abandoned corridors

Of the place I used to know


I still feel their presence here

Whispers of a thought

Though they will fade

They will never be forgot


People bustling around

On their ordinary way

Walking side by side

In the early light of day


Devoid of life, moonlight

Creeps in, empty at last

Empty, save for me,

Chipped bricks and broken glass


Memories are waning

Ivory starts to grow

In the abandoned corridors

Of the place I used to know


I hope you all enjoyed that poem! Thanks for reading!




42 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page